1. Moribund the Burgermeister
2. Solsbury Hill
3. Modern Love
4. Excuse Me
5. Humdrum
6. Slowburn
7. Waiting for the Big One
8. Down the Dolce Vita
9. Here Comes the Flood

Singles from Peter Gabriel

Peter Gabriel (1977)

Recorded in Toronto during 1976 and released the following year, Peter Gabriel’s eponymous debut solo album wasn’t as the radical departure from the Genesis sound followers might have expected, at a time when punk and new wave were on the musical horizon.

Gabriel originally didn’t intend naming his albums – each one would be called "Peter Gabriel", sporting an individual and distinctive cover image. The idea was to create a brand and a product of its own identity.

The first single to be released from the album was the optimistic "Solsbury Hill" – a Gabriel favourite still regularly heard on the airwaves today. "Solsbury Hill" became an instant hit and fan favourite. However it is radically different to the album’s opening track, "Moribund the Burgermeister" – a bizarre, almost theatrical, character-based song. With its unusual rhythm and different voices Gabriel uses to portray the characters, it stands as a bit of an odd-one-out, not really setting the tone for the rest of the album.

That said, the sound of the album varies from latin beats ("Humdrum") to heavier, more rock fuelled numbers ("Modern Love") to more dramatic pieces featuring the London Symphony Orchestra ("Down the Dolce Vita"), a bit of prog-fuelled rock ("Slowburn", "Here Comes the Flood") and humour ("Excuse Me").

Gabriel toured later that year – surprising fans by putting on a minimal show, without extravagant props or costumes for the first time, as he settled into his own identity.

While it was easy to hear where Gabriel had come from with his debut album, where he could possibly go from here, would be anybody's guess.