1. Intruder
2. No Self Control
3. Start
4. I Don't Remember
5. Family Snapshot
6. And Through The Wire
7. Games Without Frontiers
8. Not One Of Us
9. Lead A Normal Life
10. Biko

Singles from Peter Gabriel:

German edition

Peter Gabriel (1980)

Peter Gabriel began the new decade by finally establishing his own musical identity in May of 1980, with the release of his third album. Peter Gabriel [3] or "Melt", (in reference to its memorable cover image) was Gabriel’s first number one album in the UK. The album features then regular band members Tony Levin on bass and Jerry Marotta on drums alongside guest musicians including Kate Bush, Phil Collins, Paul Weller, Robert Fripp, Dave Gregory and David Rhodes.

Key elements to the music on Peter Gabriel [3], were the experimental use of early drum machines, vocal distortion and sampling techniques. Thanks to high-tech production ahead of its time, this album boasts a distinctive sound and long-lasting appeal through Gabriel's timeless though rather unconventional song writing. It oozes mystery and intrigue right from the start with the dark and creepy opening track, "Intruder", which, other than providing a haunting atmosphere and tension, features Phil Collins on drums, searching desperately for his symbols, which Gabriel had replaced by more drums. "No Self Control follows" – another great, yet slightly unsettling track, with a tense atmosphere and the first song on the album to feature backing vocals from a young Kate Bush.

"I Don’t Remember" is one of the most memorable tracks on the album – a song about amnesia, but also one of Gabriel's best rockers. The haunting "Family Snapshot" stands out as one of the albums best songs, mixing the thoughts of a serial killer with the carefree thoughts of children playing. Children's games are also the central parodical theme on "Games Without Frontiers", the second track to feature Kate Bush and the album's most successful single, and Gabriel's first top 10 hit.

Other highlights include "Not One of Us" and "And Through the Wire". The songs deal with a variety of concepts, from mental health, isolation, amnesia, telephone communication and war. The album closes with Peter’s first anti-apartheid track, "Biko". This song pays tribute to South African activist Steven Biko who was murdered while in police custody. "Biko" has since become a popular live number and anti-apartheid anthem. Peter also released a version of the album sung in German.

Peter Gabriel [3] is a brilliant piece of work, and also an extremely adventurous and innovative album for its time. It is still looked upon as a classic today - and rightly so.