1. The Rhythm Of The Heat
2. San Jacinto
3. I Have The Touch
4. The Family And The Fishing Net
5. Shock The Monkey
6. Lay Your Hands On Me
7. Wallflower
8. Kiss Of Life

Singles from Peter Gabriel [4]

German album edition

Peter Gabriel 4 (Security) (1982)

Recorded between 1980 and 1982, Gabriel’s fourth album relied heavily on the (then) new technology of the Fairlight CMI synthesiser, a revolution in sound sampling technology. Pressure from Gabriel's American label forced him to give in and name the album. His chosen title for the USA release was Security.

Despite being cleanly produced and well arranged, the sound level is quite low at the start of the album, even on the remastered version, which does make it a little hard to access at first. However, I suspect this may have been intentional, so to give more emphasis to the powerful tribal drumming section at the end of "The Rhythm of the Heat" – the album's hypnotic opening track. Originally titled "Jung in Africa", the song was inspired by psychologist Carl Jung’s 1925 trip to Africa and the overpowering effects of his participation in tribal drumming. The third world beats and musical influence are present throughout the album, which also spawned the brilliant single Shock the Monkey, giving Peter his first top 40 single in the US. With it’s tense and thrilling video, Shock the Monkey became an instant live favourite and another classic Gabriel release.

Musically and lyrically this album is somewhat unconventional, making it no surprise that only the radio friendly "Shock The Monkey" did anything in the charts, also giving Gabriel his first top 40 single in the US. With it’s tense and thrilling video, "Shock the Monkey" became an instant live favourite and another classic release. Gabriel also recorded a version of the album entirely in German.

Peter Gabriel [4] contains some of Gabriel's most diverse songwriting and music, such as the cinematic "San Jacinto", the dark "The Family and the Fishing Net" and the catchy "I Have the Touch". The only let down here is the last track, "Kiss of Life", which simply doesn't fit in with the rest, and isn't the sort of track you would expect a Peter Gabriel to close with.

The album cover was an intriguing and often disturbing image of what looks like a distorted mask or face, taken from some video experimentation by Gabriel. A 1982 edition of UK television culture programme, The South Bank Show, charting Gabriel's recording process over 18 months.

The album hit number 6 in the UK album charts, though soon fell, meeting mixed reactions from the music press. The “Playtime’88” tour followed - Gabriel’s most adventurous so far, where during "Lay Your Hands on Me", he would put his trust in his audience and perform a daring stage dive into the crowd.

Unlike many albums from the early 1980s, Peter Gabriel [4] stood out among the crowd, despite not falling comfortably into the rock, pop or world music categories.